Editor or No Editor??


Now that is a question!  Personally, my answer would be Yes!  Everyone should get an editor.  Why?  Have you actually read my posts?  This blog is a perfect example of why people need editors.  I don’t edit this.  Occasionally, I will re-read what I typed and correct things.  I do usually, use spell-check, but I don’t really don’t care much on this.  I don’t have a ton of followers, or folks who read this, and really, I don’t care.  I am not getting paid to blog here.  Now, when I do get paid, you can bet I edit the crap out of it:) Oh yeah, back to the subject.  I need an editor.  Because, if you haven’t noticed, I tend to ramble and go off topic.  But, I write this blog, like I talk.  So, it the experience for you dear reader, would be much like trying to have a conversation with me.  Hmmm, I wonder if that has anything to do with why I don’t have a lot of friends??  Anyway,  I am lucky enough to have an editor.  She does not read this blog.  It would probably give her heart failure if she did.  But, let me tell you, she loves her virtual red pen.  She rips up my academic writings like my dogs going through a roll of toilet paper!  I usually feel quite offended 🙂  But, I still love her and she is probably my closest friend.  When she does the editing thing, she doesn’t really care for me either:) 

Writers don’t typically like editors.  Writing is an intensely personal thing.  It is your thoughts, feelings, ideas just thrown out there to be criticized, analysed and judged by anyone.  Having someone find fault with something you worked so hard on, hurts.  It is like  having someone criticize your children.    But, editors are so necessary.  It is really hard to correct your own work,  or to know when something just doesn’t make sense, or just doesn’t sound right.  I am a really good editor, for other people’s stuff.  Not mine.  That’s why I have one.  She is not a gentle, ‘hey why don’t we change this part’, kinda gal.  She is more like, ‘this is stupid, what the hell are you talking about here?  Fix  it’, kinda gal.   I love her.  Editors bring out the best in writers, so yes, go get one.

Now on to other news.  I am actually, doing quite well with the diet now.  I have figured it out, I am not actually hungry.  One of the main things that was really bothering me, is I used to smoke when I would write.  I didn’t get much written, because we never smoked in the house.  Now, I don’t smoke and I can actually get a lot written, but I still want to smoke.  Oh well, I am not going to start again.  But, for two days now, I haven’t gone over any of the amounts of fat/carbs that I am supposed to stay under.  So, I am pretty proud of myself.  I also, did a little video for a company reading a customer testimonial.  They hired me to condense/cleanup the testimonials/reviews they had received from customers. I didn’t change anything.  I kept their words and made them a little shorter to fit into the space they had allowed on the website.  I didn’t ask why they didn’t have room for the whole reviews, so don’t ask me.  Most of them were pretty rambling and several included actual names of employees, which they wanted taken out, for privacy reasons.  Anyway, it fun!  I had to get a webcam with mic and I think I did 9 versions of video before I sent it off.  I didn’t care for it.  I sound weird.  I didn’t think my voice actually sounded like that.  I also took some photos of myself, so I can use a somewhat decent photo for my profile.  The one I was using was taken by a 4-year-old and I look at little, well  I don’t know what  I look like, but I probably wouldn’t hire me based on that pic.  I had a little video interview as well.  The lady wanted to make sure I wasn’t some 30-year-old man from India before she officially hired me. lol  Nope I am not a man.  So, it seems like I will be writing articles regarding women’s issues too.

Speaking of which, I need to go and get my invoices done and sent off.  The house needs vacuumed and sheets changed too.  I imagine more needs done, but I would have to look at my list.  Yes, I have a list that tells me what I need to do everyday.  I like to make lists.

Enjoy the weekend:)

Leave a Reply

