Well, it has been a bit since I have actually had a chance to get on here and  write for myself!  I have been up to my nose in freelance work, no complaints, just glad for a day to myself.  So, if you haven’t kept up on Facebook page,  I started looking for more work after the Info Army fiasco.  Still upset about that, but I am not going to do reports for free.  Anyway,  I signed up with an agency and while it was a little slow at first, because of course, I did need to build up a reputation, now I am turning down work.  Love that.  Sadly, it isn’t because of my mad skills as a writer.  It is probably because I have one special skill that is in high demand.  I read, write and speak fluent American english, just like a native, go figure.  Let’s back up a bit because I have tons to share.

 So, back at the beginning, sort of….

So about  a month ago, I applied for a job with a, let’s just call them a media company.  It is a huge company and they publish everything.  I just won’t say their name, because I am petty and refuse to give them free advertising. Strangely enough, I actually did a report on them for Info Army.  Anyway, they said that while they did enjoy my writing style, (sacasm is a marketable skill)  I was asking for too much money.  Okay fine, moving right along, I did some freelance gigs and took a few longer term contracts.  About 2 weeks ago, I got an email inviting me to bid on a job.  This company contacted me directly after reading my profile.  Well I am assuming they completely read my profile, but we’ll get to that later.  So, I checked out the job, it looked fine and appeared to be what I was looking for.  Steady work & steady pay, really flexible hours because I do have kids and other things I need to.  I put in my bid and promptly forgot about it.  They didn’t contact me until we were heading out the door to go stay at my baby brother’s house for the weekend.  They said they liked my proposal and would like me to write a test article on this subject they gave me and if they liked it, they would give me a contract for $1000 a month with the option of more work.  Oh yeah, I’ll take it, this would be the highest paying contract I have at the moment and would mean I could ditch one that really isn’t paying that well.  Because it really wasn’t a ton of writing.

I wanted to do the article then, but couldn’t so we left.  I ended up writing the article in the car on the way, using an actual pen and paper.  I know, I am just so old school.  We get to my brother’s and I try to use my niece’s laptop.  That didn’t work out.  Her laptop was so small , I am sure it was made for garden gnomes.  I felt like a giant!  My brother let me go to his shop and use his computer.  It was a little weird, because his computer screen was huge and so was his chair.  I felt a bit like Goldilocks.  Anyway, the article finally got written and submitted.  The rest of the weekend was awesome!  I always have so much fun with my baby brother regardless of what we do, but he made a point to get me some time away from the kids, which was really nice.  I do like hanging out with adults:)  Anyway, weekend was awesome and I didn’t hear back from that company till Sunday night after we got home.  I was awarded the contract and was told to expect the details of what articles they needed Monday.  Monday I woke up to an email asking if I could do 2 articles fitting such and such criteria and have them turned in by 4pm.  Now I do have 3 other working contracts now and I have them spaced out so I am not to terribly rushed and I am done with everything for the day by 3pm.  It is really hard to write with the boys home.  I told them I wasn’t sure because of other obligations so, they offered more money.  I said sure, I’ll do it.  I did, it was great, yada yada.  Then they sent the regular work to me.  Turns out, they were hired by a US-based media company to write articles for the US company.  The US company rejected the articles written by the Indians,  because well, my new Indian friends don’t sound like Americans when they write, so they had to turn around and hire someone who does.  Yay me for being born here.

It didn’t take me long to figure out who the US company was.  And I laughed and I laughed.  Then I laughed some more.  You guessed it.  It was the same company that wouldn’t hire me because I charge too much.  I bet they are paying the Indian company more than they would have paid me. I know the Indian company is paying me the amount that US company said was too much.  Idiots- The US company, not the Indians.  I bet they are laughing at how ridiculous this is too.

So, now I just laugh and laugh when  I send my bill out.  But it does make me wonder, why would an American company outsource something that clearing needs to be done by an American.  Well, they could possibly use a Canadian, but people would know it was a Canadian, seeing as how proper their English usually is. How sad is it that we now live in a world, where I can work for anyone in the world.  I can use technology to talk to my employer who is on the other side of world?  But, yet, I don’t  get hired by a company who has an office 50 some miles away?

Moving on, the trip to my brother’s did convince me that I do need to catch up with technology.  I still don’t own a cell phone:) I am usually home.  If I am not & I haven’t told you were I will be, you can just leave a message or just wait till I get home.  Bill does have a cell phone but not many people have that number.   But I am starting to see that I may need one soon.  I could have really used something to type those articles on when I wasn’t home.  It would be nice to be able to check my own email, instead of having to have my sister in law do it on her phone.  Really, she had to do everything, I couldn’t figure out how to work her phone.  If I get a cell phone, it should probably have a rotary dial 🙂

Anyway back to the typing issue, I didn’t really want a laptop since I like typing fast and want a full size keyboard. I  finally settled on getting an Alphasmart Dana.  It is a portable word processor with wifi & I flipping love it!  I am typing on it right now.  Remember those palm pilots?  this is a bigger version of those with a great word program.  When I am done with this, I will just send it to my computer and ta-da.  Very handy.  I can now work anywhere.    Love it.    And it is no bigger than a laptop.  

I really should go get started on my articles for next week.  Because of the time difference, I actually have to send the drafts to India, so they can send back here to the states to be approved or not, then back to India and then back to me.  It takes a bit of time.

Enjoy your weekend, we might or might not be expecting snow.    I think I will do a little baking and laundry.  I am thinking some homemade bread and cookies.  I think I have oatmeal and raisins …  we’ll see.

 

Leave a Reply

