Barking Like a Seal


So, last night I got a wonderful call and my most little brother, who is actually much bigger than me but considerably younger, is coming up to visit. No special reason that I know of, but it is nice. I will get to see all the girls too! So, of course everyone wakes up this morning coughing and sounding like barking seals.

Ain’t nobody got time for that! Insert Sweet Brown remix here.

Anyway, if nothing else the house will get a good dusting & vacuum, Even though I am allergic to cats, Pixie is really, really allergic so I need to try and de-Mama the house lol

She has been spending her days lounging on either the couches or the princess chairs and while I know the rule was supposed to be ‘no animals’ on the furniture, it had to be modified to ‘No Dogs’. Otherwise, the boys wouldn’t be allowed to sit on the couches either, and to be honest, everyone is too afraid of Mama to make her move.

This spring will make her about 24 giver or take a few- years old, I think- if the vets were correct when we first got her. Or she got us. But they said she was between 8 and 10 years old then and that was 2001, when she wandered up and dumped kittens on us. I wouldn’t trade her for anything though and I am glad she is as remarkably healthy as she is.

Boy, I really got off track there! So, with visitors coming, I am fairly certain they don’t know about the Menier’s yet, so I suppose we need to have a little talk. Joy, I am just so much better on paper, talking- not so much.

Which makes me come off as rude. Which I am not trying to be, but with my hearing working like an on/off switch, phone conversations are interesting and pretty annoying on my end.

Yes, I am well aware of the relay service I could get. But, I don’t want to do that. Just like I have a really handy, dandy walking stick that is customized for me and how I walk and while it makes a world a difference in making me more confident that I won’t simply fall over, I have yet to take it outside the house.

Since, when did I become so prideful that I care, what people think? I think I have always had issues with not wanting people to think I am weak or incapable of something and while I can’t exactly point to the reason why I am like that, I probably don’t want to know anyway.

So, any and all apparent walking /hearing aids will be avoided at all costs .

Unless it is a pony, or donkey. Do they have service ponies for hearing?

But, I am not in the middle of an ‘attack’ right now, just the normal BPPV- slightly off-kilter balance, so all in all pretty good. I will stop complaining and be happy for what I do have. Besides, today, I am going to make sun dried tomatoes 😉

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

